Traffic Violations

Let a savvy traffic ticket lawyer serving Pittston, PA, and the nearby areas defend your rights

Traffic Ticket Lawyer Serving Northeastern Pennsylvania

If a police officer pulled you over and gave you a ticket for a traffic violation, know that you have the right to an attorney! A lawyer will examine your case and help you avoid fines or points on your license and could even get your citation dismissed.

Call Mecadon Law when you need an experienced traffic ticket lawyer in Pittston. We have been defending Pittston-area residents from traffic tickets for decades. Don’t take a chance if you’re unsure of what to do. Call us today at 570-654-5030, or contact us through our online form.

Do You Need a Lawyer After a Traffic Violation?

People sometimes wonder if they need lawyers at all after traffic infractions. In many cases, the benefits outweigh the costs. Depending on the violation, you could face hefty fines or auto insurance rate increases. You could also receive points on your driver’s license. In Pennsylvania, your license is temporarily revoked if you accumulate 11 points on your license. This could be burdensome to those who use their vehicles for work.

The best answer to the question of whether you need an attorney after a traffic ticket is this: if you are unsure of what to do, or if you want to give yourself the best chance of avoiding the penalties of a conviction, make Mecadon Law your Pittston traffic lawyer.

How Long After a Traffic Citation Should You Call a Lawyer?

In Pennsylvania, you have 10 days to respond to your traffic citation with a plea of either guilty or not guilty. If you plan to fight your ticket with a not guilty plea, we recommend contacting Mecadon Law immediately. This will give us time to examine your case and prepare a defense.

The sooner you work with a lawyer, the better your chances are of beating your ticket.

Common Traffic Violations and Point Assessments in Pennsylvania


Exceeding the maximum posted speed is a moving violation and could result in a fine and your license being assessed points. The number of points depends on how fast you were going versus the posted speed limit. For example, traveling six to 10 miles per hour over the limit could earn you two points, while going 16 to 25 miles per hour over the limit could earn you four points. The state could also suspend your license for 15 days if the speeding occurred in an active work zone.

Running a Red Light

Failing to stop for a red light is a three-point violation.

Running a Stop Sign

Running a stop sign – even performing a rolling stop through one – is a moving violation that carries a three-point assessment if you are found guilty.

Failing to Yield

Failing to yield at a yield sign, as when you are entering lanes of traffic where other vehicles are oncoming, is a three-point violation.

Turning Illegally

Making an illegal turn, as in an illegal U-turn, is a three-point violation.

Passing on the Right

On highways, the right lane is reserved as the travel lane, while the left lane is meant for passing. You could be pulled over for using the right lane to pass a vehicle on the left. Doing so is a three-point violation.

Careless Driving

You could be cited for careless driving for any number of reasons, including speeding. Generally, any action you take on the road that threatens public safety could be considered careless driving. You could be assessed three points if convicted.

Contact Us to Get Started

Traffic Violations FAQs

We Are Your Traffic Lawyer Serving Northeastern Pennsylvania

Mecadon Law has spent decades defending the residents of Pittston and the surrounding areas from the penalties of traffic violations. Whether you were pulled over for speeding, running a red light, or making an illegal turn, know that we can help.

Call 570-654-5030 now, or contact us online, to set up a no-cost consultation.

Contact Us

Mecadon Law Is Here for You

If you need help and have nowhere else to turn, call us at Mecadon Law.
We’ll take it from here.